

NEWS RELEASE

Parliament of Canada

Deadline Extended for Nominations for Canada's Next Parliamentary Poet Laureate

Ottawa, June 30, 2017 – The Parliament of Canada has extended the deadline for nominations in the search for Canada's eighth Parliamentary Poet Laureate. The new deadline to submit a nomination is Friday, September 1st, 2017.

The role of the Parliamentary Poet Laureate is to promote the importance and value of poetry among all Canadians. Pursuant to the *Parliament of Canada Act*, the Poet Laureate may perform the following duties: compose poetry, especially for use in Parliament on occasions of state; sponsor poetry readings; advise the Parliamentary Librarian on the Library's collection and acquisitions to enrich the collection's cultural holdings; and perform related duties at the request of the Speaker of the Senate or the Speaker of the House of Commons, or the Parliamentary Librarian. The Poet Laureate holds office for a maximum of two years.

In order to give equal representation to Canada's two official languages, Poets Laureate are selected alternately from each official language community. The next Poet Laureate will therefore be from the francophone community.

The new deadline for nominations is September 1st, 2017. Nominations will be reviewed by a selection committee chaired by the Parliamentary Librarian, who will submit the names of three candidates to the Honourable George J. Furey, Speaker of the Senate, and the Honourable Geoff Regan, Speaker of the House of Commons, for final selection.

For more information on the Poet Laureate and the nomination process, please visit the Parliament of Canada website at <u>www.parl.gc.ca/poet</u>.

When it created the position of Parliamentary Poet Laureate in December 2001, Canada joined the United Kingdom, the United States and many other countries that have established poets laureate. Since then, there have been seven poets laureate: George Bowering (2002-2004); Pauline Michel (2004-2006); John Steffler (2006-2008); Pierre DesRuisseaux (2009-2011), Fred Wah (2011-2013), Michel Pleau (2014-2015) and the current Poet Laureate, George Elliott Clarke (2016-2017).

- 30 -

For additional information: Library of Parliament 1-866-599-4999