Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. Sir George Airey Kirkpatrick
P.C. (1883–1887)

On April 27, 1870, one month after the death of his father (a Conservative MP), George Kirkpatrick successfully ran for his Kingston-area seat to succeed him. At the age of 29 he began 22 consecutive years in the House, aided perhaps by the fact that his Frontenac riding was adjacent to that of Prime Minister Sir John A. Macdonald, and by his late father’s close friendship with Macdonald. Despite these connections, he never secured a cabinet post.

In 1883 Macdonald decided to nominate Kirkpatrick as Speaker; with a playful reference to the Speaker’s ceremonial tricorne hat, Macdonald wrote Kirkpatrick that “I purpose, if you have no objection, to knock you into a cocked hat at the opening of Parliament next week.” In the House, Macdonald noted that Kirkpatrick’s time there “gained for him the esteem, I might almost say the affection, of his brother members.” Sir Hector Langevin, the Minister of Public Works, seconded the nomination, but commented that Kirkpatrick’s French was limited.

Leader of the Opposition Edward Blake, however, raised a more general point. He began by quoting Macdonald’s words on the re-election of Speaker James Cockburn in 1873: Macdonald said then that he “was trying to introduce the system that had obtained in England and had worked well: That after a Speaker had served well, he should not be changed capriciously at the beginning of each Parliament.” Now Macdonald had reversed himself. Why was former Speaker Joseph-Godric Blanchet not nominated again? Blake concluded by hoping that Kirkpatrick “will endeavour to maintain the dignity of this House by some more active steps, on certain occasions, than former Speakers have taken, by the repression, at the earliest moment, of incidents, which, when prolonged only become more lamentable.”

Although Kirkpatrick is reported as saying that he was not overjoyed at being elected Speaker, he has also been described as “probably the best, or, at least, the most impartial of 19th-century Speakers.” He may have irritated some Conservative MPs by ruling against the government on occasion; he certainly irritated the Prime Minister, who saw him as not strong enough in the House, and as too close a friend of Edward Blake. Macdonald did not renominate him for Speaker in 1887, and denied him a cabinet post the following year. He stayed on the backbenches until Conservative Prime Minister John Abbott recommended in 1892 that the Governor General appoint him Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario.

As part of Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations, Kirkpatrick was knighted in 1897.

Next Speaker: Hon. Joseph-Aldric Ouimet

Previous Speaker: Joseph-Godric Blanchet


Artist: Frances E. Richards Rowley
Date: 1887

Born: Kingston, Canada West, 1841

Died: Toronto, Ontario, 1899

Professional Background:
Law, Business, Military

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable sir George Airey Kirkpatrick
C.P. (1883-1887)

Le 27 avril 1870, George Kirkpatrick réussit à se faire élire dans sa circonscription de la région de Kingston et à succéder ainsi à son père (député fédéral conservateur), décédé un mois auparavant. Âgé de 29 ans seulement, il entreprit une carrière de 22 années consécutives à la Chambre, aidé peut-être par le fait que sa circonscription de Frontenac était située tout à côté de celle du premier ministre sir John A. Macdonald et par la grande amitié qui avait uni son père à Macdonald. Malgré ces relations étroites, il n’obtint jamais de poste au sein du Cabinet.

En 1883, Macdonald décida de proposer Kirkpatrick à la présidence; faisant allusion au tricorne cérémonial du président, Macdonald écrivit à Kirkpatrick : « J’ai l’intention, si vous n’y voyez aucune objection, de vous affubler d’un chapeau à cornes à l’ouverture de la législature la semaine prochaine. » En Chambre, Macdonald déclara que Kirkpatrick avait « acquis l’estime, voire l’affection, de ses confrères députés ». Sir Hector Langevin, ministre des Travaux publics, appuya la candidature, mais fit remarquer que Kirkpatrick avait une connaissance limitée du français.

Le chef de l’Opposition, Edward Blake, souleva cependant une interrogation plus générale. Il commença par citer les paroles de Macdonald au sujet de la réélection du président James Cockburn en 1873 : Macdonald avait alors déclaré qu’il « essayait le système adopté en Angleterre et qui fonctionnait si bien : si le président a exécuté un travail satisfaisant auparavant, il ne devrait pas être remplacé sans bonne raison au début de chaque nouvelle législature ». Macdonald faisait donc volte-face. Pourquoi ne nommait-il pas de nouveau l’ancien président Joseph-Godric Blanchet? Blake conclut en disant qu’il espérait que Kirkpatrick « s’efforcerait de maintenir la dignité de la Chambre en prenant, à certaines occasions, quelques mesures plus rigoureuses que celles prises par ses prédécesseurs, et réprimerait, dès que possible, les incidents qui, s’ils se prolongent, finissent inévitablement par prendre une tournure encore plus désastreuse ».

On rapporta que Kirkpatrick ne fut pas enchanté d’être élu président, mais on dit aussi de lui qu’il fut « probablement le meilleur, sinon le plus impartial, de tous les présidents du XIXe siècle ». Il déplut sans doute à certains députés conservateurs en prenant parfois des décisions défavorables au gouvernement; il suscita certainement le courroux du premier ministre, qui le jugeait trop faible en Chambre et trop près d’Edward Blake. Macdonald ne le proposa pas à la présidence en 1887 et lui refusa un poste au sein du Cabinet l’année suivante. Kirkpatrick demeura simple député jusqu’à ce que le premier ministre conservateur John Abbott recommande, en 1892, au gouverneur général de le nommer lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Ontario.

George Airey Kirkpatrick fut fait chevalier en 1897, à l’occasion des festivités entourant le jubilé de diamant de la reine Victoria.

Président suivant : L’honorable Joseph-Aldric Ouimet

Président précédent : Joseph-Godric Blanchet


Artiste : Frances E. Richards Rowley
Date: 1887

Naissance : Kingston, Canada-Ouest, 1841

Décès : Toronto (Ontario), 1899

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle :
droit, affaires, service militaire

Affiliation politique : conservateur

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :