Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. Joseph-Aldric Ouimet
P.C. (1887–1891)

Joseph-Aldric* Ouimet had two main interests as a young man, both of which would influence his later career: military service and legal work. He graduated from infantry school in Quebec when he was only 17; by the end of 1870, at the age of 22, he had taken his law degree in Ontario, he was commissioned a first lieutenant in the Chasseurs canadiens, and he had fought against the second Fenian raid. With Conservative politics next in mind, in 1873 he began 23 years of service as an MP, firmly behind Prime Minister Sir John A. Macdonald’s Liberal–Conservative policies on, for example, a protective tariff and the Canadian Pacific Railway.

In 1885 — as a lieutenant colonel — he recruited a Montréal regiment to accompany him to the North-West Rebellion. On his return he broke with Macdonald by voting to censure the government for ordering the execution of Louis Riel. It was said that Macdonald was attempting a reconciliation when he nominated Ouimet for the Speaker’s position in 1887. As Leader of the Opposition Edward Blake stated before Ouimet’s election, the new Speaker owed his promotion to the fact that he had condemned and voted against the execution of Louis Riel as well as the government’s conduct concerning the Metis peoples.

Ouimet’s four years in the Chair went relatively smoothly; a contemporary observer commented that his “unfailing good temper, his manifest desire to hold the scales of justice even, ... won for him the approval of both sides of the House.” Following the 1891 general election, and the government’s wish to alternate between French- and English-speaking Speakers, Ouimet returned to the backbenches and Macdonald nominated Peter White as Speaker. The following year Prime Minister Sir John Abbott brought Ouimet into the Cabinet as Minister of Public Works. After four years Ouimet left politics for a judicial appointment to the Court of Queen’s Bench in Quebec, where he served until ill health forced him to resign in 1906.

After raising a regiment to quell the 1885 North-West Rebellion, Ouimet later opposed the execution of Louis Riel.

Next Speaker: Hon. Peter White

Previous Speaker: Hon. Sir George Airey Kirkpatrick

The names Aldric and Aldéric are used interchangeably in different sources.Return to text ]


Artist: René Émile Quentin
Date: 1889

Born: Ste-Rose, Canada East, 1848

Died: St-Polycarpe, Quebec, 1916

Professional Background:
Law, Military

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable Joseph-Aldric Ouimet
C.P. (1887-1891)

Dans sa jeunesse, Joseph-Aldric* Ouimet avait deux grands champs d’intérêt qui allaient façonner sa carrière par la suite : le service militaire et le droit. Il n’avait que 17 ans au moment où on lui a décerné son diplôme de l’école d’infanterie de Québec et il avait déjà obtenu un diplôme en droit en Ontario quand, à la fin de l’année 1870, à l’âge de 22 ans, il fut nommé lieutenant en premier au sein des Chasseurs canadiens et combattit la seconde invasion des Fenians. Comme la chose qui l’intéressait le plus ensuite était la politique conservatrice, il entreprit en 1873 une longue carrière de député (23 années), fier partisan des politiques libérales-conservatrices du premier ministre sir John A. Macdonald, entre autres sur un tarif protecteur et sur le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique Limitée.

En 1885, à titre de lieutenant-colonel, Ouimet recruta un régiment de Montréal pour aller combattre la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest. Or à son retour, il rompit avec Macdonald puisqu’il vota pour la motion dénonçant la décision du gouvernement de faire exécuter Louis Riel. Certains prétendirent que Macdonald tentait de faire la paix avec Ouimet au moment où il proposa la candidature de ce dernier à la présidence en 1887. Le chef de l’Opposition, Edward Blake, déclara avant l’élection de Ouimet que le nouveau président devait sa promotion au fait qu’il s’était prononcé contre l’exécution de Louis Riel et avait voté contre la conduite du gouvernement envers les Métis.

Le mandat de quatre ans de Ouimet se déroula sans incident majeur; un contemporain de Ouimet remarqua que « sa bonne humeur, son désir manifeste de faire preuve d’équité [...] lui acquirent les appuis des deux côtés de la Chambre ». Après les élections générales de 1891, en raison du désir du gouvernement d’alterner entre des présidents anglophones et francophones, Ouimet redevint simple député et Macdonald nomma Peter White à la présidence. L’année suivante, le premier ministre sir John Abbott nomma Ouimet au Cabinet à titre de ministre des Travaux publics. Quatre ans plus tard, Ouimet quitta la politique pour accepter un poste de juge à la Cour du banc de la reine au Québec, poste qu’il occupa jusqu’à sa démission pour raisons de santé en 1906.

Après avoir mis sur pied un régiment pour mater la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest de 1885, Joseph-Aldric Ouimet s’opposa plus tard à l’exécution de Louis Riel.

Président suivant : L’honorable Peter White

Président précédent : L’honorable sir George Airey Kirkpatrick

Les noms Aldric et Aldéric sont utilisés indifféremment dans les sources.Retour au texte ]


Artiste : René Émile Quentin
Date: 1889

Naissance : Sainte-Rose, Canada-Est, 1848

Décès : Saint-Polycarpe (Québec), 1916

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle :
droit, service militaire

Affiliation politique : conservateur

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :