Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. Thomas Simpson Sproule
(1911–1915)

Dr. Thomas Sproule was 68 when Prime Minister Robert Borden nominated him as Speaker in 1911. A physician and 33-year veteran of the House, he was well known for his lifelong commitment to the Protestant Orange Order (a benefit to the Conservative party, Borden thought at the time).

In seconding his nomination somewhat less than enthusiastically, Leader of the Opposition Sir Wilfrid Laurier said he found Sproule’s only weakness “is that he is a Tory, a Tory of the Tories, the very quintessence of Toryism.” Immediately after, Borden rebuked Laurier for his “ill temper.” Borden was aware that Sproule spoke no French, and later recalled that “he was very conscientious and upon his selection as Speaker he felt himself constrained to study this language, of which he was absolutely ignorant, in order that he might be able to read the prayers in French.” On his first attempt, William White, the Minister of Finance, mentioned to his seatmate Frederick Monk, Minister of Public Works, that Sproule had done fairly well. Monk responded “I have no doubt that Almighty God would understand it.”  However, Sproule tended to pronounce “ciel” (heaven) as “seau” (bucket).

Sproule’s impartiality in the Chair would be sorely tried in 1913 by the tumultuous Naval Bill debates (about whether Canada should maintain a navy or instead contribute to the Royal Navy). During an opposition filibuster, the Chair of Committees of the Whole (the Deputy Speaker), Pierre-Édouard Blondin, lost control of the proceedings on two occasions; Sproule assumed the Chair both times. He too was unable to calm the debate, and had to “name” Liberal Michael Clark (Red Deer) — the step before expulsion from the House, and the first time since Confederation that a Speaker had been forced to name an MP. Laurier refused Borden’s offer of unimpeded time for debate, and Borden introduced a new standing order allowing closure — a procedure to curtail debate and bring on a vote.

Sproule resigned as Speaker because of his deteriorating health in December 1915, and was appointed Senator; he died two years later.

In 1902 Sproule became Grand Master of the Grand Orange Lodge; within two decades Canada and Newfoundland would account for 60 per cent of the world’s Orangemen.

Next Speaker: Hon. Albert Sévigny

Previous Speaker: Hon. Charles Marcil


Artist: John Colin Forbes
Date: circa 1913

Born: King Township, Canada West, 1843

Died: Markdale, Ontario, 1917

Professional Background:
Medicine, Business, Agriculture

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable Thomas Simpson Sproule
(1911-1915)

Thomas Sproule avait 68 ans quand le premier ministre Robert Borden proposa sa candidature à la présidence en 1911. Médecin de formation comptant 33 années d’expérience en Chambre, il était bien connu pour son dévouement fervent envers l’Ordre d’Orange protestant (un avantage pour le parti conservateur, pensait Borden à l’époque).

Au moment d’appuyer à contrecœur cette nomination, le chef de l’Opposition, sir Wilfrid Laurier, déclara que le seul défaut de Sproule était d’être « un conservateur, un conservateur des plus conservateurs, l’emblème ultime du conservatisme ». Borden décria immédiatement la « mauvaise humeur » de Laurier. Borden savait que Sproule ne parlait pas français; plus tard, il raconta que Sproule « était très consciencieux » et que « dès son élection à la présidence, il se sentit contraint d’étudier cette langue, dont il ignorait tout, afin d’être capable, à tout le moins, de réciter les prières en français ». Lors de la première tentative de Sproule, William White, ministre des Finances, mentionna à son voisin en Chambre, Frederick Monk, ministre des Travaux publics, que Sproule s’en était très bien tiré. Monk lui répondit : « Je suis certain que Notre Seigneur l’a compris ». Cependant, Sproule avait tendance à prononcer « seau » plutôt que « ciel ».

L’impartialité de Sproule en Chambre fut durement mise à l’épreuve en 1913 par le tumultueux débat concernant le projet de loi sur la marine (pour décider si le Canada devait conserver sa propre marine ou contribuer à la Marine royale). Pendant une tentative d’obstruction de l’opposition, le président des comités pléniers (le vice-président), Pierre-Édouard Blondin, fut dépassé par les événements à deux occasions; Sproule reprit la présidence à chaque fois. Il fut également débordé et dut se résoudre à désigner par son nom le député libéral Michael Clark (Red Deer) – l’étape avant l’expulsion hors de la Chambre et la première fois depuis la Confédération qu’un président dut nommer ainsi un député. Laurier rejeta l’offre de Borden de procéder à un débat complet et ce dernier présenta un nouvel article au Règlement permettant une manœuvre de clôture – procédure visant à mettre fin au débat et à forcer un vote.

Sproule abandonna ses fonctions de président en décembre 1915, en raison de problèmes de santé, et fut nommé sénateur. Il mourut deux ans plus tard.

En 1902, Thomas Simpson Sproule devint grand maître de la Grand Orange Lodge; en moins de 20 ans, le Canada et Terre-Neuve représentèrent 60 % des orangistes à l’échelle mondiale.

Président suivant : L’honorable Albert Sévigny

Président précédent : L’honorable Charles Marcil


Artiste : John Colin Forbes
Date: vers 1913

Naissance : King Township, Canada-Ouest, 1843

Décès : Markdale (Ontario), 1917

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle :
médecine, affaires, agriculture

Affiliation politique : conservateur

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :