Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. Albert Sévigny
P.C. (1916–1917)

Albert Sévigny ran successfully in the 1911 federal election, one of 26 MPs from Quebec who supported Robert Borden, the new Conservative Prime Minister. Less than three and a half years later his dedication to the Prime Minister and his policies earned him the Deputy Speakership in February 1915 — an office that his son Pierre would also assume 43 years later.

In December 1915 Thomas Sproule resigned the Speakership because of ill health. Sévigny was nominated to fill the position by Sir George Foster, acting Prime Minister, who praised him for his pleasant personality, culture, and “affability and capacity.” The Leader of the Opposition, Sir Wilfrid Laurier, good-humouredly seconded the motion, observing that Sévigny started out in the House of Commons as “an ardent Nationalist,” denounced Laurier’s policies, and eventually “became a repentant sinner.” When the House met in the Victoria Memorial Museum Building after the tragic Centre Block fire in February 1916, Sévigny presided without the Speaker’s traditional robes: they had been destroyed in the fire. Members understood that the event had touched him particularly personally, because two of his wife’s guests in his parliamentary quarters had lost their lives.

Despite Sévigny’s having been a strong partisan and advocate of Canada’s participation in the First World War, he was generally considered to be an even-handed Speaker. By the end of 1916, however, the Prime Minister — by now Sir Robert — needed him in the Cabinet as a government spokesman in Quebec during the conscription crisis. The day after Sévigny resigned the Chair on January 7, 1917, Borden appointed him Minister of Inland Revenue, the first of three cabinet posts he would fill during 1917 before he lost his seat in the December 1917 general election.

Borden’s successor as Conservative Prime Minister, Arthur Meighen, appointed Sévigny to the Quebec Superior Court in 1921, and he served with distinction as a judge for the next 40 years.

One of Sévigny’s rulings allowed debate to proceed on the rights of French-speaking students in Ontario to be taught in their mother tongue.

Next Speaker: Hon. Edgar Nelson Rhodes

Previous Speaker: Hon. Thomas Simpson Sproule


Artist: Charles Huot
Date: circa 1918

Born: Tingwick, Quebec, 1881

Died: City of Québec, Quebec, 1961

Professional Background: Law

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable Albert Sévigny
C.P. (1916-1917)

Albert Sévigny remporta un siège lors des élections fédérales de 1911; il était l’un des 26 députés du Québec qui appuyaient Robert Borden, le nouveau premier ministre conservateur. Moins de trois ans et demi plus tard, en février 1915, son dévouement au premier ministre et aux politiques de celui-ci lui permit d’obtenir la vice-présidence, poste que son fils Pierre assumerait 43 ans plus tard.

En décembre 1915, Thomas Sproule quitta la présidence en raison de problèmes de santé. Sir George Foster, premier ministre suppléant, proposa la candidature de Sévigny en faisant valoir sa personnalité agréable, sa culture, son « affabilité et sa capacité ». Le chef de l’Opposition, sir Wilfrid Laurier, appuya la motion de bon cœur, observant que Sévigny avait fait ses débuts dans la Chambre des communes en tant qu’« ardent nationaliste », qu’il avait dénoncé les politiques de Laurier et qu’il était plus tard devenu « un pécheur repenti ». Lorsque la Chambre tint ses séances dans l’Édifice commémoratif Victoria après le tragique incendie qui détruisit l’édifice du Centre en février 1916, Sévigny présida les débats sans porter ses vêtements d’apparat traditionnels : ils avaient brûlé dans l’incendie. Les députés comprirent que l’incident l’avait touché personnellement de près, car deux des invités de sa femme dans ses appartements parlementaires avaient perdu la vie.

Même si Sévigny avait été un partisan convaincu de la participation du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale, il était généralement perçu comme un président impartial. À la fin de 1916, cependant, le premier ministre – alors sir Robert – eut besoin de lui dans son Cabinet pour servir de porte-parole au Québec pendant la crise de la conscription. Le lendemain de la démission de Sévigny de la présidence, le 7 janvier 1917, Borden le nomma ministre du Revenu intérieur, le premier des trois postes ministériels qu’il occuperait en 1917 avant de perdre aux élections générales de décembre 1917.

Le successeur de Borden comme premier ministre conservateur, Arthur Meighen, nomma Sévigny à la Cour supérieure du Québec en 1921. Sévigny exerça les fonctions de juge avec distinction pendant les 40 années qui suivirent.

Dans l’une de ses décisions, Albert Sévigny autorisa la tenue d’un débat sur le droit des élèves francophones de l’Ontario de recevoir un enseignement dans leur langue maternelle.

Président suivant : L’honorable Edgar Nelson Rhodes

Président précédent : L’honorable Thomas Simpson Sproule


Artiste : Charles Huot
Date: vers 1918

Naissance : Tingwick (Québec), 1881

Décès : Québec (Québec), 1961

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle : droit

Affiliation politique : conservateur

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :