Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. George Black
P.C., K.C. (1930–1935)

Prime Minister R.B. Bennett was impressed by George Black’s performance as Commissioner of Yukon (1912–1915) and by his service in the First World War. Black recruited a Yukon infantry company for the 2nd Motor Machine Gun Brigade overseas, and was wounded during the Battle of Amiens in August–September 1918; however, after recovering in a London hospital, he returned to his unit. When Bennett nominated him as Speaker in 1930, Black had won his Yukon riding as a Conservative in four consecutive general elections. The Leader of the Opposition, former Prime Minister Mackenzie King, seconded the nomination, praising his judgement, discretion, quick decision-making and sense of humour, even if he had been a strong partisan as an MP. Robert Gardiner of the United Farmers of Alberta party concurred in the nomination.

Of United Empire Loyalist ancestry, Black was an original 1898 Yukon “sourdough” (named after the sourdough bread starter that prospectors brought with them during the Klondike River gold rush, near Dawson City, Yukon). He was a hardy and tenacious man, campaigning in his vast riding by canoe, snowshoe and dog team; he was severely injured after the 1921 election when a car rolled on top of him, and dogs pulled him on his sleigh to the mail road and then the railroad, to safety. He was a keen hunter, going for grizzly and black bears, mountain sheep, mountain goats, moose and caribou. While he was Speaker, he was reported to have kept a .22 calibre pistol in his Speaker’s quarters, and to have used it to shoot at rabbits from his window when they were chewing up shrubs on Parliament Hill.

In 1935 Black suffered a serious nervous breakdown, perhaps an after-effect of his Amiens wounds. He resigned the Speakership and travelled to England for psychiatric treatment. Meanwhile his wife, Martha Black, successfully ran in his place in the general election that year, and was the second woman to be elected to the House after Agnes Macphail in 1921. Black’s recovery went well, and he returned to Canada to win his Yukon seat again in 1940 and 1945. Prime Minister Louis St-Laurent recommended him for the Privy Council in 1951. After his wife died in 1955, Black remarried at the age of 84.

Black left his law practice to pan for gold in the Yukon, only to lose his fortune in a flood.

Next Speaker: Hon. James Langstaff Bowman

Previous Speaker: Hon. Rodolphe Lemieux


Artist: Kenneth Keith Forbes
Date: 1934

Born: Woodstock, New Brunswick, 1873

Died: Vancouver, British Columbia, 1965

Professional Background:
Law, Military

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable George Black
C.P., c.r. (1930-1935)

Le premier ministre R.B. Bennett fut impressionné par le travail de George Black en tant que commissaire du Yukon (1912-1915) et par ses états de service au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. Black recruta une compagnie d’infanterie du Yukon pour la 2e Brigade de mitrailleuses motorisées d’outre-mer et fut blessé au cours de la bataille d’Amiens en août-septembre 1918. Après sa convalescence dans un hôpital londonien, il retourna cependant dans son unité. Lorsque Bennett proposa sa candidature à la présidence en 1930, le conservateur Black avait déjà remporté sa circonscription du Yukon à quatre élections consécutives. Le chef de l’Opposition, l’ancien premier ministre Mackenzie King, appuya la candidature de Black, faisant valoir le bon jugement de celui-ci, sa discrétion, ses décisions rapides et son sens de l’humour, même s’il avait été un adversaire coriace comme député. Robert Gardiner du parti des Cultivateurs unis de l’Alberta appuya également la candidature.

Descendant de loyalistes de l’Empire-Uni, Black était un vrai Sourdough du Yukon de 1898 (ainsi nommé en raison du levain-chef que les prospecteurs apportaient avec eux pendant la ruée vers l’or du Klondike, près de Dawson City, au Yukon). Homme fort et entêté, il faisait campagne dans sa circonscription en canoë, en raquettes ou en traîneau tiré par des chiens. Il fut grièvement blessé après l’élection de 1921 par une voiture qui roula sur lui; ses chiens le tirèrent alors sur son traîneau jusqu’au chemin de la poste, puis jusqu’à la voie ferrée, où il fut à l’abri. Excellent chasseur, grizzlis, ours noirs, bouquetins, chèvres de montagne, orignaux et caribous étaient ses principales proies. Au cours de sa présidence, on raconta qu’il conservait un pistolet de calibre .22 dans ses appartements et qu’il l’aurait utilisé pour abattre, du haut de sa fenêtre, des lapins qui grignotaient les arbustes sur la Colline du Parlement.

En 1935, Black souffrit d’une grave dépression nerveuse, peut-être due aux blessures subies à la bataille d’Amiens. Il quitta ses fonctions de président pour se rendre en Angleterre et y suivre un traitement psychiatrique. Entre-temps, son épouse, Martha Black, se fit élire à sa place lors des élections générales de la même année. Elle fut la deuxième femme élue députée, après Agnes Macphail en 1921. Black se remit bien et il revint au Canada pour remporter la circonscription du Yukon de nouveau en 1940 et en 1945. Le premier ministre Louis St-Laurent le nomma au Conseil privé en 1951. Après la mort de sa femme, en 1955, Black se remaria; il avait alors 84 ans.

George Black abandonna la pratique du droit pour devenir chercheur d’or au Yukon. Il perdit cependant toute sa fortune dans une inondation.

Président suivant : L’honorable James Langstaff Bowman

Président précédent : L’honorable Rodolphe Lemieux


Artiste : Kenneth Keith Forbes
Date: 1934

Naissance : Woodstock (Nouveau-Brunswick), 1873

Décès : Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique), 1965

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle :
droit, service militaire

Affiliation politique : conservateur

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :