Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Right Hon. Daniel Roland Michener
P.C., C.C., C.M.M., CD, Q.C., O.Ont., LL.D.(1957–1962)

A year after Roland Michener was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Ontario in 1945, Premier George Drew appointed him to the Cabinet — a decision that would have an unintended and long-lasting effect on Michener’s political future. In 1948 Drew successfully ran for the leadership of the federal Progressive Conservative party, defeating John Diefenbaker on the first ballot. When Diefenbaker became leader and then Prime Minister in 1957, he was still irritated that Michener — by now a Progressive Conservative MP — had not supported him nearly a decade earlier. Diefenbaker did not invite Michener to join his Cabinet, and only after Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (CCF) MP Stanley Knowles turned down his offer to be nominated for Speaker did the Prime Minister nominate Michener instead.

During his more than four years as Speaker in the 23rd and 24th Parliaments, Michener garnered a reputation for even-handedness and sensible flexibility in interpreting the procedural rules of the House. A measure of his success may be the occasional complaints by government members — and by the Prime Minister himself — that he was too fair to the opposition parties. An important achievement for which he was responsible was the smooth introduction of simultaneous interpretation in the House on January 15, 1959.

Michener was defeated in the general election of 1962, the first time since Confederation in 1867 that a Speaker had lost his riding in an election in which his party formed the government. He was offered neither a seat in the Senate nor any other patronage appointments, often seen as appropriate recognition of the Speaker’s service to the House and country. In the tributes that followed, Diefenbaker noted that if Michener had not been defeated, he would have been nominated as permanent Speaker. In his memoirs, however, Diefenbaker characterized Michener as lacking political courage for leaving politics instead of running again.

When Lester Pearson won a minority Liberal government in the general election of 1963, he offered to nominate his old friend — they had known each other since both played hockey at Oxford in the 1920s — for the permanent Speakership of the House. Michener declined, but the following year he accepted Pearson’s appointments as High Commissioner to India and later as simultaneous High Commissioner to Nepal.

In 1967, on the centenary of Confederation, Pearson nominated Michener for appointment as the Queen’s representative in Canada — the first former MP to become Governor General.

Michener was the second Canadian in history to be awarded the Royal Victorian Chain, a personal token of high esteem from Queen Elizabeth II.

Next Speaker: Hon. Marcel Joseph Aimé Lambert

Previous Speaker: Hon. Louis-René Beaudoin


Artist: Cleeve Horne
Date: 1962

Born: Lacombe, Alberta, 1900

Died: Toronto, Ontario, 1991

Professional Background: Law

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

Le très honorable Daniel Roland Michener
C.P., C.C., C.M.M., CD, c.r., O.Ont., LL.D. (1957-1962)

Un an après l’élection de Roland Michener à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario en 1945, le premier ministre de la province, George Drew, le nomma au Cabinet, décision qui allait avoir des répercussions inattendues et durables sur la carrière politique de Michener. En 1948, Drew remporta la direction du parti progressiste-conservateur fédéral, battant John Diefenbaker au premier tour. Au moment de son accession aux postes de chef puis de premier ministre en 1957, ce dernier n’avait toujours pas digéré le fait que Michener – alors député progressiste-conservateur – n’avait pas appuyé sa candidature une dizaine d’années auparavant. Diefenbaker ne nomma donc pas Michener au Cabinet, et ce fut seulement après que Stanley Knowles, député de la Fédération du commonwealth coopératif (CCF), eut refusé d’être candidat à la présidence que le premier ministre proposa Michener à ce poste.

Pendant son mandat de plus de quatre ans comme président (23e et 24e législatures), Michener acquit une réputation d’impartialité et de souplesse dans l’interprétation du Règlement de la Chambre des communes. On peut jauger son succès par les plaintes occasionnelles des députés du gouvernement – et du premier ministre lui-même – qui estimaient qu’il était trop équitable envers les partis d’opposition. Une de ses principales réalisations fut l’implantation réussie de l’interprétation simultanée en Chambre le 15 janvier 1959.

Michener fut battu aux élections générales de 1962; c’était la première fois depuis la Confédération en 1867 qu’un président perdait son siège lors d’une élection remportée par son parti. On ne lui proposa ni siège au Sénat ni nomination politique, récompenses souvent offertes pour remercier un président du travail qu’il a accompli pour la Chambre et le pays. Dans son éloge, Diefenbaker indiqua que si Michener n’avait pas été battu, il aurait été nommé président permanent. Dans ses mémoires, cependant, Diefenbaker affirme que Michener avait manqué de courage politique en quittant la scène politique au lieu de se porter candidat de nouveau.

Les élections générales de 1963 ayant entraîné la formation d’un gouvernement libéral minoritaire, Lester Pearson offrit de proposer son ami de longue date à la présidence permanente de la Chambre. (Michener et lui se connaissaient depuis qu’ils avaient joué au hockey ensemble à Oxford dans les années 1920.) Michener refusa, mais l’année suivante, il accepta que Pearson le nommât haut-commissaire en Inde, puis en Inde et au Népal simultanément.

En 1967, le jour du centenaire de la Confédération, Pearson proposa la nomination de Michener à titre de représentant de la reine au Canada; ce dernier fut ainsi le premier ancien député à accéder au poste de gouverneur général.

Daniel Roland Michener fut le deuxième Canadien de l’histoire à recevoir la Royal Victorian Chain, un symbole de l’estime personnelle de la reine Elizabeth II.

Président suivant : L’honorable Marcel Joseph Aimé Lambert

Président précédent : L’honorable Louis-René Beaudoin


Artiste : Cleeve Horne
Date: 1962

Naissance : Lacombe (Alberta), 1900

Décès : Toronto (Ontario), 1991

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle : droit

Affiliation politique : conservateur

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :