Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. Marcel Joseph Aimé Lambert


P.C., Q.C., B.Comm., B.A., B.C.L., M.A. (1962–1963)

In his first words to the House on being confirmed as Speaker in September 1962, Marcel Lambert conveyed his hope that “we shall have productive days ahead of us within the rules of the house, which I would commend to all honourable Members.” Given the potential for disruptions during the minority Parliament, he intended not to lose control of the House.

Members of the opposition parties — and even Progressive Conservative government members — soon found that being required by the Speaker to conform to their own procedural rules was too onerous. They particularly objected to being held to relevant questions and allowable supplementary questions during Question Period, as the standing orders set out. Some members seemed to favour challenging the Speaker’s rulings by formal vote.

Not easily intimidated — he had been a tank officer in the Second World War, and spent nearly three years in a German prisoner-of-war camp — Lambert was firm in his rulings on argumentative and trivial questions. Early in 1963, dissension in Prime Minister Diefenbaker’s Cabinet over whether or not to arm Canada’s anti-aircraft missiles with nuclear warheads became a political issue in the House. Lambert ruled against holding an emergency debate on the Bomarc missile question, and his ruling was reversed by the House.

Shortly afterwards, the Prime Minister appointed him Minister of Veterans Affairs, bringing to an end the shortest term of service (September 27, 1962 – February 11, 1963: less than five months) of any Canadian Speaker. He went on to complete 10 terms as an MP, and in 1984 Prime Minister Mulroney appointed him to the Canadian Transport Commission. In a tribute to Lambert on his death in 2000, former Prime Minister Joe Clark praised him for having “earned a reputation as a tough arbiter in a rowdy Commons in those heady times.”

Lambert was the last Speaker to be appointed to the Cabinet after his resignation — formerly a frequent occurrence.

Next Speaker: Hon. Alan Aylesworth Macnaughton

Previous Speaker: Right Hon. Daniel Roland Michener


Artist: Kenneth Keith Forbes
Date: 1963

Born: Edmonton, Alberta, 1919

Died: Barrhead, Alberta, 2000

Professional Background: Law, Military

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable Marcel Joseph Aimé Lambert
C.P., c.r., B.Comm., B.A., B.C.L., M.A. (1962-1963)

« J’espère que nous aurons des journées bien remplies et je suggère à tous les honorables députés de s’efforcer de respecter le Règlement », dit Marcel Lambert dans sa première allocution en Chambre après son élection à la présidence en septembre 1962. Compte tenu des possibilités de perturbations que présentait l’élection d’un gouvernement minoritaire, il n’avait pas l’intention de se laisser dépasser par les événements en Chambre.

Les députés de l’opposition – et même les députés du gouvernement progressiste-conservateur – ne tardèrent pas à constater la lourdeur de l’obligation que leur imposait le président de se conformer au Règlement. Ils s’opposaient particulièrement à l’obligation de ne poser que des questions pertinentes et des questions supplémentaires permises pendant la période des questions, comme le prévoyait le Règlement. Certains députés préconisaient, semble-t-il, la contestation des décisions de la présidence au moyen de votes officiels.

Imperturbable – Lambert avait servi dans des chars d’assaut pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et il avait passé près de trois ans dans un camp de prisonniers de guerre allemand –, le président faisait preuve de fermeté dans ses décisions sur les questions litigieuses et futiles. Au début de 1963, les dissensions dans le Cabinet du premier ministre Diefenbaker que provoquait la possibilité d’armer les missiles antiaériens canadiens d’ogives nucléaires soulevèrent un enjeu politique en Chambre. Lambert rejeta la tenue d’un débat d’urgence sur la question des missiles Bomarc, mais sa décision fut infirmée par la Chambre.

Peu de temps après, le premier ministre nomma Lambert ministre des Affaires des Anciens Combattants, ce qui mit fin au plus court mandat de président de la Chambre des communes canadienne (27 septembre 1962-11 février 1963, soit moins de cinq mois). Lambert fut élu député dix fois et en 1984, le premier ministre Mulroney le nomma à l’Office des transports du Canada. À l’annonce de la mort de Lambert en 2000, l’ancien premier ministre Joe Clark lui rendit hommage en disant qu’il « avait acquis la réputation d’être un arbitre sévère dans une Chambre chahuteuse à une époque passionnante ».

Marcel Lambert fut le dernier président nommé au Cabinet après sa démission. De telles nominations étaient courantes autrefois.

Président suivant : L’honorable Alan Aylesworth Macnaughton

Président précédent : Le très honorable Daniel Roland Michener


Artiste : Kenneth Keith Forbes
Date: 1963

Naissance : Edmonton (Alberta), 1919

Décès : Barrhead (Alberta), 2000

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle : droit, service militaire

Affiliation politique : conservateur

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :