Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. James Alexander Jerome
P.C., B.A., LL.D. (1974–1980)

During his second term as a Liberal MP, James Jerome had impressed many members of the House with his fair-minded chairing of the Standing Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs (1973–1974). When Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau nominated him to be Speaker in 1974, however, contrary to the usual practice the Prime Minister failed to consult the Leader of the Opposition (Robert Stanfield) or representatives of the other political parties. Deeply disappointed, Stanfield explained to the House why he declined to second the motion for Jerome’s election, although he pledged the full co-operation of the Progressive Conservative party. The unspoken implication was that the Prime Minister was treating the Speakership as just another government appointment.

Despite this lack of bipartisan approval, Jerome soon earned the general respect of the House, especially among opposition members. In his first major ruling he halted the government’s use of parliamentary secretaries to ask questions during Question Period. The government’s attempts to have him reconsider his ruling were taken by opposition members to show a lack of respect for the Speaker.

Jerome felt that the much-discussed issue of live radio and television coverage in the House was an important aspect of open democracy. Following a resolution of the House in January 1977, he chaired a Special Committee on TV and Radio Broadcasting of Proceedings of the House; nine months later, on October 17, 1977, gavel-to-gavel coverage began — the first of any legislature in the world.

Shortly after the Liberal government was defeated in the general election of 1979, the new Progressive Conservative Prime Minister, Joe Clark, nominated Jerome to be Speaker. Jerome had contested the election as a Liberal, and thus he became the first opposition MP ever to be elected Speaker.

After Clark’s minority government fell in 1980, Jerome announced that he would not run in the next election; Clark then appointed him Associate Chief Justice of the Federal Court.

Jerome’s memoirs, Mr. Speaker, marked the first time a Canadian Speaker had written about his experiences in the post.

Next Speaker: Right Hon. Jeanne Sauvé

Previous Speaker: Hon. Lucien Lamoureux


Artist: Robert Stewart Hyndman
Date: 1979

Born: Kingston, Ontario, 1933

Died: Ottawa, Ontario, 2005

Professional Background: Law

Political Affiliation: Liberal

Political Record:

Prime Ministers During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable James Alexander Jerome
C.P., B.A., LL.D. (1974-1980)

Pendant son deuxième mandat comme député libéral, James Jerome avait grandement impressionné ses pairs à la Chambre des communes par sa présidence équilibrée du Comité permanent de la justice et des questions juridiques (1973-1974). Le premier ministre Pierre Elliott Trudeau proposa sa candidature à la présidence en 1974, mais, contrairement aux usages, il omit de consulter le chef de l’Opposition (Robert Stanfield) ou des représentants des autres partis. Offensé, Stanfield expliqua à la Chambre les raisons qui le poussaient à refuser d’appuyer la motion portant élection de Jerome; il promit néanmoins l’entière collaboration du parti progressiste-conservateur. Il laissait ainsi sous-entendre que le premier ministre traitait la présidence comme une autre nomination politique.

Malgré l’absence d’une approbation bipartisane, Jerome acquit rapidement le respect général de la Chambre, surtout des députés de l’opposition. Dans sa première décision d’importance, il mit fin à la pratique du gouvernement de laisser les secrétaires parlementaires poser des questions pendant la période des questions. Les tentatives du gouvernement de convaincre le président de revenir sur sa décision furent perçues par les députés de l’opposition comme un manque de respect envers la présidence.

Jerome estimait que la radio-télédiffusion en direct des travaux de la Chambre – sujet fort débattu – constituait un aspect important d’une démocratie ouverte. Après l’adoption d’une résolution par la Chambre en janvier 1977, il présida un Comité spécial de la radio-télédiffusion des délibérations de la Chambre et de ses comités; neuf mois plus tard, le 17 octobre 1977, la télédiffusion intégrale des délibérations commença – une première mondiale pour une assemblée législative.

Peu après la défaite du gouvernement libéral aux élections générales de 1979, le nouveau premier ministre progressiste-conservateur, Joe Clark, proposa la candidature de Jerome à la présidence. Ayant porté les couleurs des libéraux aux élections, Jerome fut ainsi le premier député de l’opposition à être élu président de la Chambre des communes.

Après la défaite du gouvernement minoritaire de Clark en 1980, Jerome annonça qu’il ne briguerait pas un siège aux prochaines élections. Clark le nomma alors juge en chef adjoint de la Cour fédérale du Canada.

Les mémoires de James Alexander Jerome, Mr. Speaker, furent les premiers jamais écrits par un président canadien au sujet de son expérience à ce titre.

Président suivant : La très honorable Jeanne Sauvé

Président précédent : L’honorable Lucien Lamoureux


Artiste : Robert Stewart Hyndman
Date: 1979

Naissance : Kingston (Ontario), 1933

Décès : Ottawa (Ontario), 2005

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle : droit

Affiliation politique : libéral

Carrière politique :

Premier ministres pendant sa présidence :