Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. John William Bosley
P.C., B.A. (1984–1986)

Nominated by Prime Minister Brian Mulroney in 1984, John Bosley, at 37, was the second-youngest Speaker in Canadian history. He was chosen, some observers suggested, because he was both fluently bilingual and had gathered appropriate experience during his previous five years as a Progressive Conservative MP.

Among Bosley’s important rulings from the Chair were several concerning changes to the Standing Orders dating from 1982, and to new 1986 procedures adopted by the House, based on recommendations of the Special Committee on Reform of the House (the McGrath Committee).

Some personal and overly critical comments had been directed at him fairly early in his tenure by both opposition and government members. Although Bosley was a patient man, members increasingly allowed the decorum of the House to suffer. As a result he was hard-pressed to check irrelevant comments and repetitive debate. In 1985 Bosley had to eject a Liberal MP from the House for yelling at him and refusing to recognize his authority.

With new House standing orders in place in 1986, the Speaker had clear authority to require shorter and more relevant questions during Question Period, a procedure that actually benefited MPs because more could participate. On the first day the new procedures went into effect, the Speaker made a statement to members explaining the current and new provisions, with a comment on the effect of television in the Chamber. That same day he had to expel a New Democratic Party MP for refusing to withdraw an accusation of lying directed at a government minister.

Quite unexpectedly, Bosley resigned the Speakership in September 1986, after less than two years in the Chair. There was media speculation that he had been forced out. In his letter of resignation to the three party leaders, however, Bosley made it clear that he was leaving because the House was suffering from “a crisis of our own making”: “indiscipline” and the “resulting erosion of public respect for Parliament.”

Before his resignation took effect, he presided over the MPs’ first election of a new Speaker by secret ballot. Nine months after Bosley’s resignation, Prime Minister Mulroney nominated him as a member of the Privy Council for Canada. He remained in the House as a government MP — unsuccessfully running for re-election by MPs as Speaker in 1988 — until he was defeated in the general election of 1993.

Bosley was the last Speaker to be nominated by the Prime Minister; all his successors have been elected by secret ballot.

Next Speaker: Hon. John Allen Fraser

Previous Speaker: Hon. Cyril Lloyd Francis


Artist: Shirley Van Dusen
Date: 1993

Born: Toronto, Ontario, 1947

Professional Background: Business

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable John William Bosley
C.P., B.A. (1984-1986)

Élu à la présidence de la Chambre en 1984 sur proposition du premier ministre Brian Mulroney, John Bosley se classa, à 37 ans, au second rang des présidents les plus jeunes de l’histoire canadienne. Son bilinguisme et l’expérience pertinente acquise au cours de ses cinq années précédentes comme député progressiste-conservateur motivèrent ce choix selon certains observateurs.

John Bosley rendit d’importantes décisions à titre de président, dont plusieurs avaient trait à la modification du Règlement de la Chambre, qui datait de 1982, et aux nouvelles règles de procédure adoptées en 1986, d’après les recommandations du Comité spécial sur la réforme de la Chambre des communes (comité McGrath).

Au début de son mandat, Bosley essuya des commentaires personnels et exagérément critiques tant de l’opposition que du parti au pouvoir. Malgré sa patience, les députés oublièrent peu à peu le décorum à la Chambre, de sorte que Bosley eut beaucoup de mal à refréner les observations déplacées et les propos répétitifs. En 1985, Bosley dut expulser un député libéral de la Chambre, qui criait à son endroit et refusait de reconnaître son autorité.

Le nouveau Règlement de la Chambre établi en 1986 habilita le président à exiger des questions plus brèves et plus pertinentes durant la période des questions, ce qui eut pour effet d’avantager les députés, plus nombreux à pouvoir prendre la parole. Le jour de l’entrée en vigueur des nouvelles règles de procédure, le président adressa aux députés une déclaration dans laquelle il expliquait les dispositions applicables et parla de l’effet de la télévision sur les délibérations de la Chambre. Le même jour, il dut expulser un député néo-démocrate qui refusait de retirer une accusation de mensonge proférée contre un ministre.

Contre toute attente, Bosley démissionna de la présidence en septembre 1986 après moins de deux ans à ce poste. Des médias émirent l’hypothèse qu’on lui avait forcé la main. Dans sa lettre de démission adressée aux chefs des trois partis, il précisa toutefois qu’il partait parce que la Chambre traversait une crise dont elle était elle-même responsable, caractérisée par l’indiscipline et, par conséquent, l’érosion du respect de la population pour le Parlement.

Avant que sa démission prenne effet, il présida la première élection d’un nouveau président au scrutin secret. Neuf mois après sa démission, le premier ministre Mulroney le nomma membre du Conseil privé du Canada. Il demeura à la Chambre comme député du parti au pouvoir – essayant en vain de se faire réélire président en 1988 – jusqu’à ce qu’il soit battu aux élections générales de 1993.

John William Bosley est le dernier président dont le premier ministre proposa la candidature; tous ses successeurs furent élus au scrutin secret.

Président suivant : L’honorable John Allen Fraser

Président précédent : L’honorable Cyril Lloyd Francis


Artiste : Shirley Van Dusen
Date: 1993

Naissance : Toronto (Ontario), 1947

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle : affaires

Affiliation politique : conservateur

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :