Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. Gilbert Parent
P.C., B.Sc., M.A., M.Ed. (1994–2001)

Elected as a Liberal in five general elections before he decided to run for Speaker, in 1994 Gilbert Parent succeeded John Fraser as the second Speaker to be voted into the office directly by members of the House. The election went to six ballots — the fifth was a tie — over seven hours.

The House resulting from the 1993 election promised to be lively and controversial. Parent faced 199 first-time MPs and five political parties, of which two — Reform and Bloc Québécois — were newly recognized in the House. During this period, national feelings ran high over whether the Province of Quebec could separate from Canada, or be politically independent from Canada while maintaining an economic association with Canada. Initially, the Bloc Québécois, a sovereignist party, formed the Official Opposition, as it had the second highest number of seats. Parent was later required to decide whether the Reform Party or the Bloc Québécois would be the Official Opposition when, due to a resignation and a sudden death, their seat numbers drew even. He was called upon to rule on a wide variety of other issues as well, including the admissibility of amendments (hundreds, on one occasion) and recorded divisions that were used as delaying tactics. In March 1998 the Speaker was faced with ruling on the propriety of small flags on the Chamber desks of some government and opposition MPs, who were offended by a Bloc Québécois MP’s comment concerning the October 1992 national referendum on the Charlottetown Accord.

The Speaker — a former school teacher — stressed public information as a priority during his two terms. Together with Gildas Molgat, Speaker of the Senate of Canada, he was the driving force behind the establishment of the annual Teachers Institute on Canadian Parliamentary Democracy, an intensive professional development opportunity that brings 85 outstanding teachers from across Canada together in Ottawa for an insider’s view on how Parliament works. Under his Speakership, in 2000, the House of Commons published what would become the first edition of the authoritative guide to House precedents and rules of procedure: House of Commons Procedure and Practice, edited by the Clerk and the Deputy Clerk.

A former high-school teacher, Parent was the driving force behind the expansion of public outreach in Parliament.

Next Speaker: Hon. Peter Andrew Stewart Milliken

Previous Speaker: Hon. John Allen Fraser


Artist: David Goatley
Date: 2001

Born: Mattawa, Ontario, 1935

Died: Toronto, Ontario, 2009

Professional Background: Education

Political Affiliation: Liberal

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable Gilbert Parent
C.P., B.Sc., M.A., M.Ed. (1994-2001)

Élu député libéral dans cinq élections générales avant de présenter sa candidature à la présidence, Gilbert Parent succéda à John Fraser en 1994; il est ainsi le deuxième président à avoir été élu directement par les députés. Il fallut pour cela six tours de scrutin – avec égalité des voix au cinquième – sur une période de sept heures.

La Chambre formée par suite des élections de 1993 promettait d’être animée et de prêter à controverse. Parent avait devant lui 199 députés nouvellement élus et cinq partis politiques, dont deux – le Parti réformiste et le Bloc québécois – venaient d’être reconnus à la Chambre. Au cours de cette période, les sentiments nationalistes étaient exacerbés : on se demandait si le Québec pouvait se séparer, s’il pouvait accéder à l’indépendance politique tout en maintenant une association économique avec le Canada. Initialement, le Bloc québécois, un parti souverainiste, formait l’Opposition officielle puisqu’il se classait au deuxième rang pour le nombre de sièges. Parent eut par la suite à décider qui, du Parti réformiste ou du Bloc québécois, formerait l’Opposition officielle, le jour où il y eut égalité des sièges entre eux par suite d’une démission et d’une mort subite. Il eut également à trancher une foule d’autres questions, entre autres celle de la recevabilité des amendements (des centaines dans un cas) et des votes par appel nominal utilisés comme tactique dilatoire. En mars 1998, le président dut rendre une décision sur l’acceptabilité des petits drapeaux placés par certains députés du parti au pouvoir et de l’opposition sur leur pupitre en chambre pour protester contre une remarque d’un député du Bloc québécois concernant le référendum national d’octobre 1992 sur l’Accord de Charlottetown.

Ancien enseignant, Gilbert Parent fit de l’information du public une de ses priorités pendant ses deux mandats. Avec Gildas Molgat, président du Sénat du Canada, il fut l’élément moteur de la mise sur pied du Forum des enseignantes et des enseignants sur la démocratie parlementaire canadienne, stage annuel intensif de perfectionnement professionnel qui réunit 85 enseignants exceptionnels venus de toutes les régions du Canada pour se familiariser avec les rouages du Parlement. Sous sa présidence, en 2000, la Chambre des communes publia la première édition de ce qui allait devenir l’ouvrage par excellence sur les précédents et les règles de procédure, La procédure et les usages de la Chambre des communes, rédigé sous la direction du greffier et du sous-greffier.

Ancien enseignant au niveau secondaire, Gilbert Parent joua un rôle déterminant dans l’expansion des activités de sensibilisation du public au Parlement.

Président suivant : L'honorable Peter Andrew Stewart Milliken

Président précédent : L’honorable John Allen Fraser


Artiste : David Goatley
Date: 2001

Naissance : Mattawa (Ontario), 1935

Décès : Toronto (Ontario), 2009

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle : éducation

Affiliation politique : libéral

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :