Skip to main content

The Speakers of the Canadian House of Commons

 

Hon. Andrew Scheer
B.A. (2011–2015)

Two weeks after his 32nd birthday, Andrew Scheer was elected Speaker of the House of Commons, the youngest person ever to hold the office. Scheer brought considerable experience to the position, having served as one of three Deputy Speakers since 2006 and as Chair of the Committees of the Whole since 2008.

While at university, Scheer worked on Parliament Hill, in the office of the Leader of the Opposition. Moving to Saskatchewan, he completed his education at the University of Regina. He was first elected to the House of Commons in 2004, at the age of 25.

Scheer was one of eight candidates for the Speakership on June 2, 2011. In his address to parliamentarians prior to the vote, he highlighted the need to improve the decorum of the House of Commons, referring to the "toxic" climate of the House in years past. He won on the sixth ballot. His affability and experience were seen as important, and he promised to employ a mixture of diplomacy and assertiveness to set the tone for the House.

During his term, Scheer worked with the Board of Internal Economy to modernize public disclosure of Members’ expenditures and to ensure that they would be published in a timely fashion.

After the end of his term as Speaker, Scheer was named Official Opposition House Leader.

Andrew Scheer was the first MP from Saskatchewan to be Speaker of the House of Commons.

Next Speaker: Hon. Geoff Regan

Previous Speaker: Hon. Peter Andrew Stewart Milliken


Artist: Juan Martinez
Date: 2018

Born: Ottawa, Ontario, 1979

Professional Background: Insurance

Political Affiliation: Conservative

Political Record:

Prime Minister During Speakership:

Passer au contenu

Les présidents de la Chambre des communes du Canada

 

L’honorable Andrew Scheer
B.A. (2011-2015)

Deux semaines après son 32e anniversaire de naissance, Andrew Scheer fut élu à la présidence de la Chambre des communes. Il était le plus jeune de l’histoire du Canada à occuper ce poste. Scheer possédait une vaste expérience, ayant occupé l’un des trois postes de vice-présidents depuis 2006 et celui de président des comités pléniers depuis 2008.

Alors qu’il était encore à l’université, Scheer travaillait sur la Colline du Parlement, au bureau du chef de l’Opposition. Il déménagea ensuite en Saskatchewan, où il termina ses études à l’Université de Regina. Il fut élu pour la première fois à la Chambre des communes en 2004, à l’âge de 25 ans.

Scheer fut l’un des huit candidats à la présidence, le 2 juin 2011. Dans son discours devant les parlementaires avant l’élection, il a souligné la nécessité de rehausser le décorum à la Chambre, faisant référence à l’atmosphère « toxique » qui régnait depuis quelques années. Scheer remporta l’élection au sixième tour de scrutin. Son affabilité et son expérience étaient perçues comme des atouts importants, et il promit de faire preuve à la fois de diplomatie et de fermeté pour établir le ton à la Chambre.

Au cours de son mandat, Scheer modernisa, avec le Bureau de la régie interne, la méthode de divulgation des dépenses engagées par les députés ainsi que celles reliées aux ressources fournies par la Chambre des communes, afin que celles-ci soient publiées en temps opportun.

Après la fin de son mandat, Scheer fut nommé Leader parlementaire de l'Opposition officielle.

Andrew Scheer était le premier député de la Saskatchewan à être élu à la présidence de la Chambre des communes.

Président suivant : L’honorable Geoff Regan

Président précédent : L'honorable Peter Andrew Stewart Milliken


Artiste : Juan Martinez
Date: 2018

Naissance : Ottawa (Ontario), 1979

Secteurs d’activité professionnelle : assurances

Affiliation politique : conservateur

Carrière politique :

Premier ministre pendant sa présidence :